K-Beauty Pencil Eyeliners 101 Part 2 – Innisfree, Tony Moly, The Face Shop, & JSM Beauty!

And we’re back with part 2 of this post! In this one, like the title suggests, I’ll be talking about Innisfree, Tony Moly, The Face Shop, & JSM Beauty, as well as doing a final comparison of all of the liners mentioned in both part 1 and part 2 of this mini-series. If you’re curious about part 1, you can check it out here!

IMG_5607

I only have 6 eyeliners to talk about in this post, since I only own a few from each brand, but I will be focusing on the comparison of all liners at the end of the post! Let’s start the brand I have the most of, Innisfree…

•○ Innisfree ○•

IMG_8071

I’ve written a full, in-detail post about these Always New Auto Liners here, but I’ll do a quick summary for this post!

These come in 30 shades, and I own 11, 15, and 20. These claim to be multi-use, although the tips are so thin I don’t use them for more than eye/lip liner. They come in matte, creamand glitter finishes. The first 15 shades are water/smudge-proof, and the last 5 are not.

IMG_8078

They have a twist-up component, and a lid that sharpens your pencil every time you close it. The problem with this lid is that it is very fragile, and I have cracked all of mine when closing them.

IMG_8077

They don’t come with a sponge/smudger, but have this random bit on the bottom that to this day I still have no idea what it’s for 😂. But upon looking at the Innisfree website, it seems they’ve changed these from a twist-up product to a button-clicking one, and thus replaced this useless cap thing with that button.

IMG_8087
11, 15, 20

I bought 11 hoping I could use it as a waterline colour, but I barely use it because it ends up just hurting my eyes with how little product it applies. I threw out 15 after finding it impossible to use – way too dry, tugged like hell on my eyes, and not pigmented. Trying to reapply more on top to get a more pigmented finish just causes the product to crumble and come off of your eyes. 20 is a better formula, and works alright as liner if set with powder. The best use for this is as a lip product! These go for 9,000 KRW for only 0.3g of product – a pass for me!

•○ The Final Three ○•

IMG_5658

I decided to review my odd-branded liners together, starting with Tony Moly!

!!!

This liner, the Tony Moly Baekjel Real-Fit Waterproof Liner Wonder Pool Edition in 03 – Orange Bikini, is the most neon, out of this world liner I own. The photo does NOT do it justice; it is VERY, VERY FLUORESCENT 😂. It apparently even works under a UV light, although I’ve yet to test it this way. It glides on easily, and lasts all day without smudging. These are a twist-up pencil, and come with a sharpener at the bottom. This line sadly only comes in 3 shades, and I wish they released more! I’d kill for a neon pink or purple 😍. 7,000 KRW for 0.5g. You can check out the other, more basic shades here.

IMG_5891

This JSM Beauty High Tinted Eye Color Pencil in Olive Shot Green is my one and only product from this brand. These liners come in 12 shades, with a mix of neutrals and bright colours. They claim to be water/sweat/sebum-proof, and offer themselves as a multi-use product.

These have a fancy, removable component at the bottom that is both a sponge and a sharpener, and are a twist-up style liner. The colour is very bright and pigmented! I did a makeup look using it on my Instagram here, so you can get an idea of the colour in real life. Their website is super informative about the formula and other product details (and in both English and Korean!) so I recommend you check it out if you want to know more about these. If they weren’t so pricey (16,000 KRW for 0.5g) I’d pick up a few more of these. The formula is great and the colours are really unique and different than what you’d usually see in Korea!

IMG_5887

And finally we have The Face Shop Gelset Smudgeproof Auto Liner, these come in 6 shades, and claim to be water/sweat/sebum-proof. They set after a short time and last all day. Above is 06 – Pink, although I would call it more of a neon-flame orange. Each liner comes with a sharpener! I find this liner to be creamy, and very pigmented. The Face Shop isn’t one of my favourite brands, so I tend not to have high expectations for their products, but I was very pleasantly surprised by this! I love using it by itself as a winged-eyeliner because it’s such a loud statement colour. These go for 8,000 KRW for 0.6g

IMG_5665

All 3 of these are quite similar in size, shape, and texture! I love the formula of all of these, so it’s basically about picking out the colours you like, if any 🙂 .

•○ 7-Brand Comparison ○•

I made a chart pointing out the different attributes of each liner under each brand, and calculated the price per 0.1g of product based on what each product contained VS the price. Below is a little key so you know what the symbols mean!

Please click the links below the images to see them full-sized if you need to ❤ !

Icon-Chart

1

Full-sized image
2Full-sized image

Based on this chart the best product to get your money’s worth is the Etude House Play 101 Blending Pencil, and the worst is the VDL Expert Gel Pencil. I think the best quality for your money would be The Face Shop or Tony Moly pencils. Unfortunately these have a very small shade range 😦 , so you’re probably best off going with the Play 101 Pencils despite some shades drying up over time. Other than that issue, they have a huge range, go on creamy, set, and last forever on your lids, and are a great price (plus always on sale!).

So hopefully these two posts were helpful for those of you interested in purchasing eyeliners from K-Beauty brands! I’m not sure what another good product to highlight would be 🤔…blush? Lip tints? Feel free to give your suggestions below for what I should do for my next “K-Beauty 101” post! ❤ Until then~ (*●⁰ꈊ⁰●)ノ

4 thoughts on “K-Beauty Pencil Eyeliners 101 Part 2 – Innisfree, Tony Moly, The Face Shop, & JSM Beauty!

    1. I find it can be a little more tedious to do that extra step and add a liner on top, but I do really like how they define my eyes! And sometimes even adding a little colour to your waterline really makes a makeup look transform 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  1. k beauty has a dizzying selection of lip tints! I would love to hear your reviews & comparisions! Thank you so much for the ones on eyeliners, I feel very justified for buying 5 Etude House ones recently!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment